Do you know what are the WhatsApp features in the new group chat privacy?

Condotel Education

WhatsApp

On November 5, 2019, WhatsApp rolled out a new group chat privacy setting worldwide. Groups on social networks or messaging platforms are a good way to keep in touch with the topics or people that interest you. However, some can be very annoying, especially when they add you without asking first. Thinking about that and the privacy of its users, WhatsApp is implementing some changes.

What are the features of the new Group Chat privacy settings?

The WhatsApp messaging platform has announced a new privacy setting that will allow all users to choose who can add them to group chats. In a blog post, WhatsApp notes that people turn to groups for important conversations. They also want more control. “Today we are introducing new privacy settings and an invitation system to help you decide who can add you to groups,” the statement said on November 5, 2019.

With this measure, the instant messaging application owned by Facebook seems to have listened to its users to give them more control over how they interact or form part of groups. “WhatsApp groups continue to connect family, friends, coworkers, classmates, and more. As people go to groups for important conversations, users have asked for more control over their experience,” the company said.

That is why WhatsApp has added an invite system that will help users decide who can add them to groups. If you are a user of this platform, surely you know that previously they could do it without your consent.

See also  Google introduces Image Editor, an AI tool that transforms images into a sentence

After being released in beta, the blocking of group invites has already been released. This is how you can enable this group control feature.

How to enable group control function?

To enable the group control feature, simply go to the Settings area in the WhatsApp app (Marked by three vertical dots).

Once there, you enter the Account area and select Privacy, where the Groups option appears.

When you enter Groups, you will have several options:

By choosing the My Contacts option, only people in your contact list can add you to groups. In these cases, the person who wants to add you to a group will be asked to send you a private invite through a one-on-one chat.

If you choose my contacts except (And someone’s name), you can choose which contacts. In particular, you cannot add to groups.

If you select Everyone, this will allow anyone to add you to a group without first having to approve it. That is the system that had been until now.

And, if you prefer, you can also choose that no one can join a group.

Subscribe to our latest newsletter

To read our exclusive content, sign up now. $5/month, $50/year

Categories: Technology
Source: condotel.edu.vn

Leave a Comment