Being the most used social media platform globally and keeping the title is not an easy task. And since there are billions of users who prefer to use Facebook Messenger to communicate, they want to resolve the issues as soon as possible.
Facebook has really come a long way and continues to bring more new and exciting features to its users. Not only that, but like any other social media platform, it prioritizes resolving the queries its users have.
And one of them is “how to delete someone on Messenger?”. Are you receiving messages on Facebook Messenger from people you don’t know? Well, there could be many reasons behind it, but we have solutions for the problem.
Does anyone know how to remove someone who is not on your facebook friend list from facebook messenger?
– Zuhour ✨ (@zooree95) April 24, 2019
If you also have the same question as the user in the previous tweet, keep reading! In this article, we are going to discuss the steps for ‘how to delete or remove someone on Messenger’.
Can you delete someone on Messenger?
Before we get into what you are looking for in the article, let us answer if you can delete someone on Messenger. Well, unfortunately, it’s not as easy and straightforward to remove someone from Messenger as it might seem.
Which means there’s no easier way than to hit the delete button, and the people you want to delete are gone! So, we are here to help you with this guide and explain different methods for different situations in ‘how to remove someone from Messenger?’
So if you also receive messages from unknown people, they may not be added to your friends list or from the Message Requests section in Facebook Messenger. And, if you’re wondering, you can text him even though he hasn’t been added to you; if you have set your config to public, it is possible.
So let’s dive into the details and start with the steps of different methods for ‘how to remove someone from Messenger?’.
How to remove someone from Messenger?
Now that you know if you can remove someone from Messenger, let’s move on to the part most of you are here to read about. To remove unwanted users from Facebook Messenger, we have accumulated some methods for you. So let’s go in and see the different steps for it.
Note: In the next few steps, you will see the step to press the name of the contact you want to delete. But when you tap on it and Facebook Messenger is not showing messages, there are most likely different reasons for it.
- Launch the Messenger app on your device and sign in to your account if you haven’t already.
- Tap the People icon at the bottom right of the screen.
- Then tap on the given icon for Contacts at the top right.
- Now a list will appear synced with your phone and other social media platforms.
- After that, go to the contact you want to remove from your Facebook Messenger and tap on the info icon at the top right.
- You will now be able to see the option to Block here. Click on it and the user will be successfully removed.
With these steps, you will be able to delete any contact on Facebook Messenger. However, if you run into the “This person is not available on Messenger” error while trying to delete the person, they may have deleted or deactivated their account.
Now let’s get started with the steps to remove someone from a group chat on Facebook Messenger.
How to remove someone from the Messenger group?
To remove someone who is a member of a group on Messenger, all you have to do is follow the steps below:
- Launch the Messenger app.
- Go to the group you want to remove the member from.
- Tap on View Group Members and now the list of members will appear.
- After that, click on the profile you want to delete.
- Select Remove from group and the member will be removed successfully.
Note: Please note that the steps above will only work if you are the admin of the relevant Messenger group chat.
And now the group user will be removed from the chat group in Messenger. These were the steps to remove someone from the Messenger group without them knowing. Now let’s move on to the next section to understand the steps to remove unfriends from Messenger.
Steps to remove non-friends from Messenger
If you want to remove non-friends from Messenger, you can do so by removing users individually or by removing them in bulk, completely. The steps for both ways are given below.
To remove a single user from Facebook Messenger, the steps are as follows:
- Open the Facebook Messenger app on your device.
- Find the user you want to delete.
- Once you have selected the user, their chat will open.
- Click on the information icon.
- Now tap on the Delete Contact option.
- After that, a confirmation popup will appear, click Remove to confirm.
Now you will no longer receive the user’s messages and they will be successfully removed from your Facebook Messenger.
Apart from a single user, you can also delete multiple accounts on Facebook Messenger at the same time. If you want to remove more than one user from Facebook Messenger at a time, here are the steps for that.
- Open the Messenger app on your device.
- Now click on your profile photo from the top.
- Then scroll down and click on Phone Contacts.
- After that, tap on Manage contacts.
- Lastly, click Delete All Contacts.
Now your non-friends will be removed from Facebook Messenger en masse. Let’s see if someone gets a notification when you delete or delete them on Facebook Messenger.
How to remove someone on Messenger by removing them as a friend?
If you don’t want to remove someone on Messenger by blocking them, there is another method by which you can remove them, and that is to remove them from your friends. The steps for the method are as follows:
- Launch the Facebook Messenger app.
- Now click on the People tab from the bottom.
- After that, go to the contacts list by clicking on the contacts icon.
- Go to the profile of the person you want to remove.
- Now tap on your profile and select View profile.
- Then click View Profile on Facebook.
- Once your profile opens, click Not Friend and confirm the changes.
In this way, you now know how to remove someone from Messenger without blocking. So, if you are wondering if Facebook Messenger will notify the other person about this action, then skip to the next section to get the answer.
Steps to stop automatic contact syncing in Messenger
By now, you might have understood that it is quite common for unknown people to get added on Facebook Messenger due to different reasons. So to prevent that from happening, you can disable auto-sync. The steps to stop Messenger from syncing your phone contacts are as follows:
- Open the Messenger app and tap on your profile photo from the top.
- After that, scroll down and tap on the option of Phone Contacts.
- Now click on Upload Contacts option.
- Lastly, tap on Turn off and now contact sync will be disabled.
Does Messenger notify you when you delete someone?
If you think that Messenger will notify other users when you block them, let us tell you that this is not the case. There are some users who have complained about facing Facebook Messenger notification not disappearing issue, but that notification is usually about pending and unread messages. So as of now, there is no such thing as Facebook Messenger notifying users when people block other users.
As Facebook is the most widely used social media platform across the globe, many people also use it to communicate. Facebook Messenger has over 1.3 billion users, so it’s not new for them to request certain features of the app.
One such query is how to delete someone on Messenger, and we have found the ways to do that in the article. It explains pretty much all the ways to delete someone on Messenger. Hopefully the steps will help you to remove or remove someone from Facebook Messenger.
- How to see unsent messages in Messenger?
- Disappearance mode in Messenger