WhatsApp users now have the ability to send voice notes within their status updates thanks to a new feature that has just been rolled out. According to WhatsApp tracker WABetaInfo, a limited number of beta users can now access the functionality on the WhatsApp for Android platform.
📝 WhatsApp beta for Android 184.108.40.206: what’s new?
WhatsApp is rolling out the ability to share voice notes via status updates for some lucky beta testers! https://t.co/ZHmQu368oz pic.twitter.com/ETsDLogxbC
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) January 18, 2023
Because of this, the instant messaging platform can communicate status updates with certain users who have their privacy settings pre-set in a certain way. As per the screenshot, users have access to the feature that allows them to send audio notes within the text status section. The system would give users the option to delete a recording before sharing it with others. A voice note can have a maximum duration of thirty seconds. According to WABetaInfo, in order for users to hear voice notes that have been posted as status updates, they will need to update their version of WhatsApp.
Read more: Big WhatsApp update
According to WABetaInfo, voice notes that are distributed as status updates are end-to-end encrypted and will be deleted after twenty-four hours. In the coming weeks, the capacity is expected to be available for a greater number of people.
A conversation transfer tool is currently being developed for users of the platform, which will allow them to transfer their WhatsApp data to a new Android smartphone without having to use Google Drive. This is how it will develop.
The new Android device will make the QR code accessible to the user. The transfer of the chat history to the new Android device will start after scanning the QR code. According to WABetaInfo, the feature is only available on Android devices at the moment.
Also Read: WhatsApp Starts Rolling Out Payment Service In India
This follows WABetaInfo’s recent revelation that WhatsApp is working on a camera option that will allow users to toggle between taking photos and recording videos. Right now, for users to record a video, they will need to hold down the camera button.
Subscribe to our latest newsletter
To read our exclusive content, sign up now. $5/month, $50/year